Sara Kulturhus

Timber construction to unimagined heights

© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman
© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman
© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman

Sustainable building with state-of-the-art technology and a tried and tested natural material

D+H Sweden won the competition for the D+H Atmosphere Award in 2022. With the platinum award, the colleagues from Northern Europe took first place in our company's own award of honor. Last year, we at D+H refrained from awarding prizes to the best projects. Now that the restrictions of recent times - and with them many market obstacles - are fading further into the background, we are looking forward to continuing the tradition of the D+H Atmosphere Awards.

There is a spirit of optimism in the region around Skellefteå. After a strong exodus of inhabitants in this region, which was characterised by the timber trade, in the last century, the turnaround has been achieved with the settlement of high-tech industry. In order to enhance its own cultural offerings, the city announced a competition for the building that has now been erected.

Skellefteå in northern Sweden, which used to be dominated by wooden buildings, now has a wooden focal point in the middle of its centre. With the Sara Kulturhus, the medium-sized town in the province of Västerbottens län is home to a special example of sustainable building. The high-rise building, constructed with a wooden supporting structure, stands for modern building with an eye on the CO2 balance. It has 20 storeys and is around 80 metres high. This makes it one of the tallest wooden buildings in Europe. The author Sara Lidman, who comes from the area, is the building's namesake.

The Kulturhus is divided into a lower structure as a cultural centre for public use with a library, a wood-clad theatre hall, a gallery and other areas that can be used for art and culture. The upper building, from floor number five, is a tower. This will be used for the hotel business, which, in addition to overnight accommodation, has a conference area, a restaurant as well as a fitness and spa area. 

The Sara Kulturhus is powered entirely by renewable energy. It is supported by a control system that regulates the demand for ventilation and heat. Energy that is not consumed can be stored. For a long time, in timber construction-loving Sweden, it was only possible to plan and build with a low building height due to the risk of fire. However, advances in building technology have made it possible to build to previously unimagined heights. The concept of fire protection, to which the experts from D+H Sweden have contributed significantly, plays its part. 

In this building, solutions for Controlled Natural Ventilation (CNV) and Smoke and Heat Exhaust Ventilation (SHEV) were installed. A large number of D+H chain drives, especially of the KA series, supplemented by BSY+ technology and associated ACB-gateways ensure millimetre-precise control of the windows and daily air supply as well as safety in case of fire. Only three CPS-M series SHEV control units ensure the smooth operation of all D+H products in this 24-volt system. The team from D+H Sverige AB has always been the point of contact for those involved in the project during the planning and construction phases. In particular, the planning of the cabling to a possible minimum, programming of the systems and commissioning of all solutions bears the creative signature of the experts from D+H Sverige AB.

The internationally recognised architectural firm White Arkitekter designed this climate-positive building, which has received several awards both for its architecture and for promoting a sustainable lifestyle. The use of wood as a building material for a large part of the overall project shows the possibilities that are currently possible with this natural material. It was possible to do without a concrete core to reinforce the house. The wood for the construction comes from forests in the region. And the prefabrication of the wooden components was also carried out in a company not far from the construction site. The categorisation as climate-positive is based on the wish that the building will be used for at least 100 years and that it will already bind more CO2 after half of its minimum useful life than was caused during its construction. The large glass façades on all sides of the building are also striking.

Check out our other Atmosphere Award winners 2022:

Ken Rosewall Arena - Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre (Sydney)

Bourse de Commerce (Paris)

No. 1 Old Trafford (Manchester)

iCampus München i5/i6/i7 (Munich)

Year of construction
2021
Location
Skellefteå (Sweden)
Architect
White Arkitekter
Use
Education & Culture
Solution
Controlled Natural Ventilation (CNV), Smoke and Heat Exhaust Ventilation (SHEV) 
Products
8 x KA 34-BSY+ (4 x Set), 154 x KA 54-BSY+ (77 x Set), 2 x ZA-1-ACB, 4 x CDC-0252-1-ACB ( 2 x Set), 1 x CPS-M 20 A, 1 x CPS-M 60 A, 1 x CPS-M 120 A, 81 x ACB Gateway

Press releases

Seek + Find

Training

Entry + Promotion

Gallery

Made + Delivered

Sara Kulturhus

Holzbau in ungeahnte Höhen

© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman
© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman
© Visit Skellefteå / Åke Eson Lindman

Nachhaltiges Bauen mit modernster Technik und einem altbewährten Baustoff

Die schwedische Vertriebsniederlassung der D+H Gruppe hat im Jahr 2022 den Wettbewerb um den Atmosphere Award für sich entschieden. Dieser zeichnet herausragende Lösungen für außergewöhnliche Architektur aus. Der Platin Award geht in den Norden Europas.

In der Region um Skellefteå (Nordschweden) herrscht Aufbruchstimmung. Nachdem es noch im vorigen Jahrhundert zu einer starken Abwanderung von Einwohnern in dieser von Holzhandel geprägten Gegend kam, ist mit der Ansiedlung von High-Tech-Industrie die Kehrtwende geschafft. Um das eigene kulturelle Angebot aufzuwerten schrieb die Stadt einen Wettbewerb für das nun errichtete Gebäude aus.

Das ehemals von Holzbauten geprägte Skellefteå hat einen hölzernen Fixpunkt inmitten seines Zentrums erhalten. Mit dem Sara Kulturhus beherbergt die mittelgroße Stadt in der Provinz Västerbottens län ein besonderes Beispiel nachhaltigen Bauens. Das mit einem Holztragwerk errichtete Hochhaus steht für modernes Bauen mit Augenmerk auf die CO2 -Bilanz. Es besitzt 20 Stockwerke und ist rund 80 Meter hoch. Damit ist es eines der höchsten aus Holz gebauten Häuser in Europa. Die aus der Gegend stammende Autorin Sara Lidman ist Namenspatin für das Gebäude.

Das Kulturhus teilt sich in ein unteres Bauwerk als für die Öffentlichkeit nutzbares Kulturzentrum mit Bibliothek, einen holzverkleideten Theatersaal, einer Galerie sowie weiteren für Kunst und Kultur nutzbaren Flächen. Das obere Bauwerk, ab Stockwerk Nummer fünf, ist ein Turm. Dieser wird für den Hotelbetrieb genutzt, welcher neben Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten einen Konferenzbereich, ein Restaurant sowie einen Fitness- und Wellness-Bereich aufweist.  

Das Sara Kulturhus wird komplett durch erneuerbare Energien betrieben. Unterstützt wird es durch ein Steuersystem, welches den Bedarf für Lüftung und Wärme regelt. Nicht verbrauchte Energie kann gespeichert werden. Im Holzbau-begeisterten Schweden konnte lange Zeit aufgrund der Brandgefahr nur mit einer geringen Gebäudehöhe geplant und gebaut werden. Fortschritte in der Bautechnik machen es jedoch möglich in bisher ungeahnte Höhen zu bauen. Das Konzept des Brandschutzes trägt seinen Teil dazu bei. An diesem haben die Experten von D+H Schweden maßgeblich mitgewirkt.   

In diesem Gebäude wurden Lösungen für kontrollierte natürliche Belüftung (KNL) sowie Rauch- und Wärmeabzug (RWA) verbaut. Über 160 D+H Kettenantriebe, vor allem der Serie KA, ergänzt um die BSY+ Technologie sowie damit verbundene ACB-Gateways sorgen für eine millimetergenaue Ansteuerung  der Fenster - und für  eine tägliche Luftzufuhr sowie Sicherheit im Brandfall. Nur drei RWA-Zentralen der Serie CPS-M leisten den reibungslosen Betrieb aller D+H Produkte in diesem mit 24 Volt beriebenen System. Das Team von D+H Sverige AB ist während der Planungs- und Bauphase stets Ansprechpartner für die Projektbeteiligten gewesen. Besonders die Planung der Verkabelung auf ein mögliches Minimum, Programmierung der Anlagen und Inbetriebnahme aller Lösungen trägt die professionelle Handschrift der Experten von D+H Sverige AB.

Das international anerkannte Architektenbüro White Arkitekter entwarf dieses klimapositive Gebäude, welches mehrere Auszeichnungen sowohl für seine Architektur als auch für die Förderung eines nachhaltigen Lebensstils erhalten hat. Die Verwendung von Holz als Baumaterial für einen großen Teil des Gesamtprojekts zeigt die Möglichkeiten auf, die aktuell mit diesem Naturstoff möglich sind. Auf einen Betonkern zur Aussteifung des Hauses konnte verzichtet werden. Das Holz für den Bau stammt aus Wäldern der Region. Und die Vorfertigung der Holzbauteile erfolgte ebenfalls in einem Betrieb unweit des Errichtungsorts. Die Kategorisierung als klimapositiv erfolgt aus dem Wunsch, dass das Gebäude mindestens 100 Jahre genutzt werden soll und bereits ab der Hälfte seiner minimalen Nutzungsdauer mehr CO2 bindet als bei Errichtung verursacht wurde. Markant sind ebenfalls die großen Glasfassaden an allen Gebäudeseiten. 

Sehen Sie sich auch unsere anderen Atmosphere Award Gewinner 2022 an:

Ken Rosewall Arena - Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre (Sydney)

Bourse de Commerce (Paris)

No. 1 Old Trafford (Manchester)

iCampus München i5/i6/i7 (München)

Baujahr
2021
Standort
Skellefteå (Schweden)
Architekt
White Arkitekter
Nutzung
Bildung & Kultur
Lösung
Kontrollierte Natürliche Lüftung (KNL), Rauch- und Wärmeabzug (RWA)
Produkte
8 x KA 34-BSY+ (4 x Set), 154 x KA 54-BSY+ (77 x Set), 2 x ZA-1-ACB, 4 x CDC-0252-1-ACB ( 2 x Set), 1 x CPS-M 20 A, 1 x CPS-M 60 A, 1 x CPS-M 120 A, 81 x ACB Gateway

Pressemeldungen

Neues + Wissenswertes

Ausbildung

Einstieg + Aufstieg

Galerie

Gemacht + Getan