Lakhta Center

Architecture above the clouds

Natural ventilation in Europe's tallest building—even with high pressure loads and suction loads

The Lakhta Center in St. Petersburg is a true skyscraper, with the point of the needle-shaped high-rise literally disappearing into the clouds on certain days. The new head office of the Russian energy company Gazprom is Europe's tallest building. At 462 metres, the Lakhta Center numbers among the world's tallest skyscrapers that uses natural ventilation through windows. From the beginning, the Lakhta Center was intended to become a global symbol for cutting-edge technology, environmentally friendly design and comfort. Due to its high energy efficiency, the finished building was also classified as a green building and awarded the platinum certificate of the LEED certification system (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).

An important contribution to this was made by the D+H solution for natural ventilation in a skyscraper. The selection of window drives taken into consideration for this was characterised by the enormous wind pressure and wind suction loads at great heights. The building has several atria, each of which spans two storeys. The D+H window drives installed in five of these atria can be opened and closed fully automatically depending on the weather. The drives in all sections of the building are controlled by the building management system. The result is a comfortable atmosphere in the rooms at all times, night and day.

The façade of the Lakhta Center is attached to slightly curved steel beams, which span across two storeys. By using pivot-hung sashes 1.2 metres tall and 93.8 centimetres wide, the skyscraper can be naturally ventilated through the façade. These windows have been equipped with 1240 D+H window drives and 1240 D+H lock drives. All lock drives have been integrated into the window profile. The lock drives take loads off the window drives and window hinges. This combination enables the wind loads to be managed even at great heights, and the windows remain securely open or closed. To ensure the required ventilation cross-section, the side-hung vent windows open 45 degrees inwards. D+H developed a rotatable bracket specifically for use in the Lakhta Center which would even have allowed an opening angle of up to 80 degrees if necessary.

Read more about this project in the "HIGH" part of the "Topics" section on our website.

Year of construction
2019
Location
St. Petersburg, Russia
Architect
RMJM (Tony Kettle), ZAO Gorproject
Use
Office & residential
Solution
Natural ventilation (CNV)
Products
1240 chain drives KA with a 600 mm stroke, 1240 lock drives VLD

Press releases

Seek + Find

Training

Entry + Promotion

Gallery

Made + Delivered

Lakhta Center

Architektur über den Wolken

Natürliche Lüftung im höchsten Gebäude Europas - selbst bei hohen Druck- und Soglasten

In St. Petersburg kratzt das Lakhta Center nicht nur an den Wolken, die Spitze des nadelförmigen Hochhauses befindet sich je nach Wetterlage mittendrin. Die neue Hauptverwaltung des russischen Energiekonzerns Gazprom ist das höchste Gebäude Europas. Mit 462 Metern zählt das Lakhta Center außerdem zu den weltweit höchsten Wolkenkratzern, in denen die natürliche Lüftung über Fenster eingesetzt wird. Von Anfang an sollte das Lakhta Center ein weltweites Aushängeschild für Spitzentechnologie, Umweltfreundlichkeit und Komfort werden. Wegen seiner hohen Energieeffizienz wurde das fertige Gebäude auch tatsächlich als Green Building eingestuft und mit dem Platin-Zertifikat des Zertifizierungssystems LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) ausgezeichnet.

Einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu leistete die D+H Lösung zur natürlichen Lüftung in einem Wolkenkratzer. Die Wahl der dafür in Frage kommenden Fensterantriebe war geprägt von den enormen Winddruck- und Windsoglasten in großer Höhe. Im Gebäude erstrecken sich mehrere Atrien über jeweils zwei Etagen. Die in fünf dieser Atrien eingebauten D+H Fensterantriebe lassen sich wetterabhängig vollautomatisch öffnen und schließen. Gesteuert werden die Antriebe in allen Gebäudeabschnitten über die Gebäudeleittechnik. So herrscht heute zu allen Tages- und Nachtzeiten eine behagliche Atmosphäre in den Räumen.

Die Außenfassade des Lakhta Center hängt an leicht verdrehten Stahlträgern, die sich über jeweils zwei Geschosse spannen. Mittels 1,2 Meter hohen und 93,8 Zentimeter breiten Drehfensterflügeln kann der Wolkenkratzer über die Außenfassade natürlich belüftet werden. Diese Fenster wurden mit 1.240 D+H Fensterantrieben und 1.240 D+H Verriegelungsantrieben ausgerüstet. Sämtliche Verriegelungsantriebe konnten dabei in das Fensterprofil integriert werden. Durch die Verriegelungsantriebe werden die Fensterantriebe und die Fensterscharniere entlastet. Eine solche Kombination macht die Windlasten auch in großer Höhe beherrschbar und die Fenster bleiben sicher offen oder geschlossen. Um den geforderten Lüftungsquerschnitt zu erfüllen, öffnen sich die Drehflügelfenster einwärts um 45 Grad. D+H hat für den Einsatz im Lakhta Center eine objektspezifische Drehkonsole entwickelt, die sogar einen Öffnungswinkel bis zu 80 Grad ermöglicht hätte.

Lesen Sie mehr über dieses Projekt auf unserer Themenseite HOCH.

Baujahr
2019
Standort
St. Petersburg, Russland
Architekt
RMJM (Tony Kettle), ZAO Goproject
Nutzung
Büro & Wohnen
Lösung
Natürliche Lüftung KNL
Produkte
1.240 Kettenantriebe KA mit 600 mm Hub, 1.240 Verriegelungsantriebe VLD

Pressemeldungen

Neues + Wissenswertes

Ausbildung

Einstieg + Aufstieg

Galerie

Gemacht + Getan